Who we are

The Founders

Plukrijp was founded in 2007 by Frank Ruymen & Martine Beaujean

Frank Ruymen

Frank acquired our farmland in 1972 and was one of the pioneers of organic farming in Belgium. Frank was passionate about soil life and has always made intuitive regenerative agriculture, later on called permaculture by Bill Morisson. So Frank had an experience of more than 50 years. With his formation as economic historian and his wide range of interests (philosophy, quantum physics, politics, sociology, anthropology, …) he offered a complete contemporary formation in permaculture adapted to our climate. He was often called “a human encyclopedia”. Frank passed peacefully away at home on May 12, 2022.

Martine Beaujean

Cupid’s arrow having pierced my heart, I came to join Frank in 1988. Together, we made the organic farm prosper and developed a wholesale business in fresh organic products while raising our four children. In 2007, we decided to stop the commercial side and devoted ourselves to the transmission of our knowledge on permaculture in all its aspects. Our project Plukrijp was born.

Initially, I studied medical secretary but my knowledge comes from my long experience as a management assistant in various companies active in the organic world or with a social purpose.

I am the administrative and structural force of Plukrijp. I am often called the “mother of the place”, because I put everything into place to create and maintain a feeling of a big family.

I like simplicity and I am deeply touched by the beauty I discover everywhere. I like to add value to the fresh vegetables from the garden by transforming them into delicious dishes that delight our taste buds or by preserving them.

 

The Volunteers

Plukrijp works thanks to the commitment of a few long-term motivated volunteers

 

Joshka de Milliano

I’ve stayed and invested myself at Plukrijp for the last three and a half years. I’m a teacher by trade and vocation and I’ve taught in various democratic schools in the Netherlands. As any good teacher should, I’m also an eternal student and at Plukrijp I’ve had the opportunity to continue learning in so many directions. Frank opened my mind to so many areas of life here on Mother Earth previously completely unbeknownst to me through his recommendations and insatiable desire for knowledge, ranging from the abstract of philosophy, to the esoteric of Shaiva Tantra, to the down-to-earth gardening, to the beauty of art and music and to the intimacy of group living and psychology and so much more. He taught me that true no-nonsense permaculture is a holistic lifestyle, spanning every facet of life.

At Plukrijp I provide systemization and clarity, I maintain the IT-infrastructure, and help the garden flourish together with Anthony and Jojo. My main objectives at the moment are helping Plukrijp into its next phase of life after Frank’s passing and putting into practice what I’ve learned theoretically over the last few years.

If you’re interested in anything that Plukrijp has to offer I am more than willing to share with you any and all I have learned here and elsewhere; passing on the wealth of knowledge that has been offered to me brings me great joy!

 

Niels De Meyer

I am now living in Mechelen at the moment working at Ferm organic farm and going to Plukrijp on a weekly basis.

I see Plukrijp as a model for permaculture and a form of real “social security” where I’ve made some great friendships. I was fortunate to live at Plukrijp for almost two years and study under Frank in some of his finest years. The open household, no-nonsense culture there is truly special.

Permaculture is to me a path that I’ve been on for almost 10 years now, and one that feels like it will be a thread and a calling for the rest of my life. I hope to be a living example and a mascot or guardian for others on the way. I bring my passion and perspectives to the table, and I love to share the mistakes I have made as “traps” for others to save them time. I am deeply inspired by Christopher Alexander’s A Pattern Language, a vision of design to make places come alive for human beings.

You are most likely to find me in the garden at one of the places I have committed to, and I look forward to seeing you there and finding out how we will collaborate.

 

Johannes Jonker (Jojo)

I was a horticulture student and travelling musician until I discovered Plukrijp and realized there was a way in which humans could cooperate with nature (permaculture) instead of controlling it.

Intrigued, I set foot on the path of learning from the hyper practical teachings Plukrijp and Frank had to offer on living together, no-nonsense permaculture, and music. Humbled, I bagan to rethink what I had learned thus far and set my mind and heart to learning from nature, experience, and sharing.

After a year of working on Plukrijp, and with the help of Frank’s teachings, the cycles of the garden and community became much clearer so I started to work with them to keep the hummus growing, the veggies tasty, the music alive, and the people living together in harmony and synergy.

The wellspring of life and wealth that comes from working together with nature in a clear and meaningful way is the essence of what I saw in Plukrijp and is what I intend to keep alive through sharing my knowledge, presence & music in the new era of Plukrijp & Permaculture.

Anthony Cloet

Anthony brought to Plukrijp all the beauty of who he is in 2019. His generous and sensitive nature nchants everyone who crosses his path. He has a university education in the field of economics and he is eager for knowledge. He has the art of taking an interest in everyone because he is convinced that everyone has an enriching story to share.

Qui nous sommes

Les Fondateurs

Plukrijp a été fondé en 2007 par Frank Ruymen & Martine Beaujean

Frank Ruymen

Frank a acquis nos terres agricoles en 1972 et a été l’un des pionniers de l’agriculture biologique en Belgique. Frank était passionné par la vie du sol et a toujours fait de l’agriculture régénérative intuitive, plus tard appelée permaculture par Bill Morisson. Frank avait donc une expérience de plus de 50 ans. Avec sa formation d’historien de l’économie et son large éventail d’intérêts (philosophie, physique quantique, politique, sociologie, anthropologie, …) il a proposé une formation contemporaine complète en permaculture adaptée à notre climat. Il était souvent appelé « une encyclopédie humaine ». Frank est décédé paisiblement à la maison le 12 mai 2022.

Martine Beaujean

La flèche de Cupidon m’ayant transpercé le coeur, je suis venue rejoindre Frank en 1988. Ensemble, nous avons fait prospérer la ferme bio et développé un commerce de grossiste en produits frais bio tout en élevant nos quatre enfants. En 2007, nous avons décidé d’arrêter le côté commercial et nous nous sommes consacrés à la transmission de nos connaissances sur la permaculture sous tous ses aspects. Notre projet Plukrijp etait né.

Au départ, j’ai fait des études de secrétaire médicale mais mes connaissances proviennent de ma longue expérience en tant qu’assistante de direction dans diverses entreprises actives dans le monde bio ou à vocation sociale.

Je suis la force administrative et structurelle de Plukrijp. J’y assure aussi l’intendance. On m’appelle souvent la « mère du lieu », car je mets tout en place pour créer et maintenir un sentiment de grande famille.

J’aime la simplicité et je m’émerveille devant la beauté que je découvre partout. J’aime ajouter de la valeur aux légumes frais du jardin en les transformant en de délicieux plats qui enchantent nos papilles gustatives ou en les conservant.

 

Les Volontaires

Plukrijp fonctionne grâce à l’engagement de quelques volontaires motivés de longue durée

 

Joshka de Milliano

Cela fait trois ans et demi que je suis arrivé à Plukrijp et que je m’y investis. Je suis enseignant de formation et par vocation et j’ai enseigné dans diverses écoles démocratiques aux Pays-Bas. Comme tout bon enseignant devrait le faire, je suis aussi un étudiant éternel. A Plukrijp, j’ai eu l’occasion de continuer à apprendre. Frank m’a ouvert l’esprit à énormément de domaines de la vie ici sur notre Terre Mère qui étaient jusque-là restés totalement inconnus de moi. Grâce à ses recommandations et à sa soif insatiable de connaissances, il m’a initié à l’abstrait de la philosophie, à l’ésotérisme du Shaiva Tantra, au jardinage no-nonsence, à la beauté de l’art et de la musique, à l’intimité de la vie de groupe, à la psychologie et bien plus encore. Il m’a appris que la véritable permaculture sans fioritures est un mode de vie holistique, couvrant toutes les facettes de la vie.

Chez Plukrijp, j’apporte la systématisation et la clarté. Je maintiens l’infrastructure informatique et j’aide avec Anthony et Jojo à faire prospérer le jardin. Mes principaux objectifs pour le moment sont d’aider Plukrijp dans sa prochaine phase de vie après le décès de Frank et de mettre en pratique ce que j’ai appris théoriquement au cours des dernières années.

Si vous êtes intéressés par tout ce que Plukrijp a à offrir, je suis plus que disposé à partager avec vous tout ce que j’ai appris ici et ailleurs. Transmettre la richesse des connaissances qui m’ont été offertes me procure une grande joie !

 

Niels De Meyer

Actuellement, je vis à Malines et je travaille à la ferme biologique Ferm. Je me rends à Plukrijp chaque semaine. J’ai eu la chance de vivre à Plukrijp pendant près de deux ans et le privilège de recevoir l’enseignement directement de Frank.

Je vois Plukrijp comme un modèle de permaculture et une véritable « sécurité sociale » où j’ai noué de belles amitiés. La culture familiale ouverte et sans fioritures y est vraiment spéciale.

La permaculture s’est imposée à moi comme une évidence il y a près de 10 ans. C’est devenu un fil conducteur et une vocation pour le reste de ma vie. Mon désir est de pouvoir être un exemple vivant et une mascotte ou un gardien pour les autres sur ce beau chemin.

Je partage avec enthousiasme ma passion, mes perspectives et les erreurs que j’ai commises. J’espère ainsi que les autres ne tomberont pas dans ces « pièges » et que cela leur permettra de gagner du temps.

Je suis profondément inspiré par “A Pattern Language” de Christopher Alexander, une vision du design pour rendre les lieux plus vivants pour les êtres humains.

Vous me trouverez très probablement dans le jardin de l’un des endroits où je me suis engagé, et j’ai hâte de vous y voir et de découvrir comment nous allons pouvoir collaborer.

Johannes Jonker (Jojo)

J’étais étudiant en horticulture et musicien itinérant jusqu’à ce que je découvre Plukrijp et que je réalise qu’il existait un moyen pour les humains de coopérer avec la nature (permaculture) au lieu de la contrôler. Intrigué, j’ai pris la voie de l’apprentissage des enseignements hyper pratiques que Plukrijp et Frank avaient à offrir sur la vie en communauté, la permaculture no-nonsense et la musique.

En toute humilité, j’ai remis en question ce que j’avais appris jusque là. J’ai alors décidé d’apprendre de la nature, de mes expériences et des moments de partage avec les autres.

Après un an de séjour à Plukrijp, et avec l’aide des enseignements de Frank, les cycles du jardin et de la communauté sont devenus beaucoup plus clairs. C’est alors que j’ai commencé à travailler avec eux pour augmenter la fertilité du sol, pour faire pousser des légumes savoureux, pour maintenir la musique vivante et pour vivre ensemble en harmonie et en synergie.

La source de vie et de richesse qui découle de la collaboration avec la nature de manière claire et significative est l’essence de ce que j’ai vu à Plukrijp et c’est ce que j’ai l’intention de maintenir en vie en partageant mes connaissances, ma présence et ma musique dans la nouvelle ère de Plukrijp. & Permaculture.

Anthony Cloet

Anthony a apporté à Plukrijp toute la beauté de qui il est en 2019. Sa nature généreuse et sensible enchante chaque personne qui croise son chemin. Il a fait des études universitaires dans le domaine de l’économie et il est avide de connaissances. Il a l’art de s’intéresser à chacun car il est persuadé que chacun a une histoire enrichissante à partager.